TUT Johannesburg

TUT Johannesburg

TUT Johannesburg, Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) is a higher education institution in South Africa that came into being through a merger of three technikons — Technikon Northern Gauteng, Technikon North-West and Technikon Pretoria.


As the number of students registering annually grows rapidly, records show that Tshwane University of Technology caters for approximately 60,000 students and it has become the largest residential higher education institution in South Africa




It comprises up to six satellite campuses. These campuses include PretoriaSoshanguveGa-RankuwaWitbank (eMalahleni), Nelspruit and Polokwane campuses. Two faculties, namely the Faculties of Science and The Arts, have dedicated campuses in the Pretoria city centre


Mission, Vision and Values

TUT’s Vision

Pioneering an enterprising and transformative brand of twenty-first Century University of Technology scholarship.​​

TUT’s Mission

In fulfilling its vision, TUT will support its students to achieve their highest potential in a safe, enabling and conducive environment by:

  • Fostering a scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Providing relevant and competitive academic programmes with seamless articulation pathways
  • Investing in state-of-the-art technology
  • Conducting relevant research and promoting innovation, engagement and social enterprise

TUT’s Values

​To attain its Vision, the staff and students of Tshwane University of Technology commit to

  • Social accountability
  • Duty of care
  • Non-discrimination
  • Greening the environment​​

Institutional Goals

  1. To prepare diverse students for rewarding careers and responsible citizenry by providing a student-centred learning experience that is underpinned by a scholarship of teaching and learning.
  2. To promote a culture of inquiry and social enterprise through technology-based postgraduate studies, research and innovation in current and emerging niche areas.
  3. To promote mutually-beneficial academic, social and economic partnerships
  4. To provide a supportive teaching and learning, working and living environment for staff and students​


Prof Ben van Wyk

Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment


For more information, contact:
Name: Zanele Sibiya
Tel: +27 12 382 5120
Fax: +27 12 382 5568

Prof Mashupye Maserumule

Acting Executive Dean: Faculty of Humanities

For more information, contact:
Name: Ms J Janse van Rensburg
Tel: +27 12 382 9541

Prof Maredi Mphahlele

Executive Dean: Faculty of Information and Communication Technology

For more information, contact:
Name: Ms Marietjie Booysen
Tel: +27 12 382 9689

Dr Edgar Nesamvuni

Executive Dean: Faculty of Management Sciences

For more information, contact:
Name: Samkeziwe Nkomzwayo
Tel: +27 1 382 5632

Prof Prince Ngobeni

Executive Dean: Faculty of Science

For more information, contact:
Name: Mampenyane Malatja
Tel: +27 12 382 6208

Prof Nalini Moodley-Diar

Executive Dean: Faculty of the Arts

For more information, contact:
Name: Ms Suzan Marotholi
Tel: +27 12 382 6132

Prof DP van der Nest

Acting Executive Dean: Economics and Finance

Tel: +27 12 382 0743